All grown up and nowhere to go

the weekend of Grrr

Posted on: August 10, 2008

This weekend is just not working for me. It’s like I’m a TV show about a Series of Misfortunes with advert slots for Small Irritations. Let’s start from the top.

1. I’m a Really Bad Driver

I was volunteered into my dept’s Go-Kart racing team to compete in a company race a month from now. So yesterday on TGIF we left office at 5.30pm for a training session. Well the place was at the ulu side of Jurong (yes, Jurong itself is ulu but there is an ulu side to the ulu side). Crickets chirping and all that. Only three people on the track – myself and my 2 colleagues. At first things were fine except for the too big helmet (despite the fact that it’s Kids size. My head is really small) which kept slipping whenever I sped up. But then I skidded a couple of times. Then I banged into a grassy mound. Which turned out to be a big slab of rock. Which flung out. Smokes. I jumped up, YIKES! But I was lucky that I wasn’t injured at all. The big slab of rock was injured more than me, since it flew a few meters and all.

Unfortunately the next thing I decided to bang into was my colleague, because we’re racing and I’m aggro and I thought the bloody thing was sturdy. Well I damaged his go-kart. Why didn’t they explain the safety bits? As I recall, they took the registration money, asked us to put on the helmets, and told us that left pedal was to accelerate and right was to brake. I discovered that the right pedal was to accelerate and the left was to brake.

I suppose the good side of it is that now I know I can bang a rock without getting a scratch. (It was a pretty huge one as well, imagine a 4-seater table at Mac’s and that’s the surface area of the rock. It’s about 30 cm thick. Very rough in texture, very authentic concrete-y slab.)

2. Don’t Let Me Touch It

Friday night was MTP night at Marc’s. I shared a seat with the cbkia (with whom I’m no longer on a break with, we’re getting on rather well nowadays especially since he gave good massages when I had cramps). Everytime I told him I wanted to play the next hand. The next hand would turn out to be unplayable. Everytime I touched our pair of cards first, they ended up being things like 47 off, Q2 off, 23off, basically everything-under-the-sun off with maximum 1 picture card (but never A or K). But the cbkia did well and won us a net profit of $197, which even covers my Go-Kart wallabingbang.

3. The PINnacle of The Weekend

Most irritating of all was work. I brought my laptop home because the boss wanted me to work on something over the weekend. So I tried. In order to access the VPN (since the files were all saved in the company network drive and not my own hard drive) I had to key in a PIN. It worked last week but of course started screaming BAD PIN in blinking text glory when I tried it this time around.

So, fine. Can’t work from home, let’s go to the office. Except that my workplace is at Centennial Tower. Today is National Day. Road closures all around. Wheeeee. So, fine. Let’s just bear with the s l o w traffic and blockages and get on with it. Reached office, scanned my access card. Ahh… on weekends we need to input a PIN code on top of scanning. Well, let’s input the PIN… Normally when I do this, I can hear the doors unlocking immediately. This time there was no response. I thought nothing of it until I pushed the door and it pushed me back, adamant. Let Me In, I said. The door stayed silent.

WHAT THE ???

Small irritations include things like having really bad cramps, having to wait 15 minutes for the Post New Entry page to load, and the tiny niggling feeling that I have buttloads of work to do and no way to do them.

This is such a joke.

Leave a Reply

