All grown up and nowhere to go

Ready, set, gambleeeeee.

Posted on: October 27, 2008

I just placed a huge bet on the dollar yen. If this works, then I will be > 50% up. If it doesn’t, then… I suppose I’ll get a call from my broker tomorrow.

Ahh… I can’t imagine ever being away from this adrenaline. No wonder I’ve been feeling so powerless the past few weeks! I have stopped controlling my fate, letting “passive income”, as Lim WW puts it, control me instead. Not that I have a choice – work has been crazy and I’ve hardly had time to monitor the volatility (of which there had been plenty) in the currency markets.

I really think I know what I want to do in my life. I’m greatly looking forward to my stint at the FX dealing desk, even if it’s just to buy everyone else coffee.

Anyhoo, the spread is mad but it’ll be peanuts if I pull this through. C’mon. Down boy. I’m halfway there.

Speaking of gambling, the MTP gang had its own Sports Day yesterday. We played all sorts of Sports. From Holdem to dealer’s choice to pool to tennis/rayman/softball/boxing on Wii. It was all rather enjoyable (until I got home and realized I hadn’t done a single one of the bloody e-learning modules I was supposed to complete, so today I’ll have to do about 25 of them. GAH!). I hope we could do a repeat performance when I get back from SHA in 8 weeks’ time. I trashed the Blur Sheep in boxing. KA-POWWW!

Marcย & Tim John cheated in tennis. Poo poo.

OK OK they didn’t, I’m just lousy ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I won a bit in Holdem, which made me happy. Even after my dealer’s choice losses, I can still afford to buy a nice pair of shoes ๐Ÿ™‚ which I won’t. I’m saving up for the crinkled Prada wallet I’ve been eyeing for a while…

I have adjusted my limit, the price has gone past it so I’m gearing up for additional profits. I suddenly can afford my wallet!

Am rather nervous about SHA, but then again it’s going to be quite exciting meeting new people and learning new cultures (especially from the Jap, hur hur). And the Sheraton apartment!!! I can’t wait to bounce on that big yummy bed… Ahhhhh honeymoon-period life as a trainee!

Squared. 92% profit/margin utilized! ๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t you just love volatility.

I have to admit, I lucked out. But then again, when luck is with you, you are free to brag and call it skill. So yeah, skill it is. KA-POWWW!

Leave a Reply

