All grown up and nowhere to go

I need a shoe room and a book room

Posted on: March 2, 2010

I picked up one of the Gossip Girl books I bought ages ago for some dinner reading. One of the most calming moments I have is reading while slowly eating. But this time, a little niggle bit into me and I couldn’t really get into it. The niggle grew into a wiggle, and then into a diggle… I just had to get to the bottom of it.

Niggle: Where are all my Gossip Girl books?

I have all the books in the series and couldn’t recall who I lent the books to, but I distinctly remembered doing an inventory check at one point and asking for all the books back. That was two years ago though, and now I could only see 4 books scattered all around.

Instead of starting to pack for the London trip, I turned my room inside out to find the other 7 books in the series, to no avail. My apartment isn’t big, so the fact that these books are around somewhere just ate me to death.

I then rooted around my bro’s room (previously a temporary storage area), but all the containers were packed with his toys. Pulled the drawers of my study table, nada. Went through all the boxes along the narrow corridor and found 3 GG books along with my favourite book of all time – Howl’s Moving Castle – and a few other novels which I could recall buying but not reading. My dad must’ve been nosy while I was away and packed the hodge-podge of books together in my absence.

I still can’t find the other 4 GG books (this will haunt me forever). They can’t go missing alone, must be in a box somewhere with other books of mine, which means I have books I can’t remember owning which are currently missing.

I NEED A FRIGGIN’ LIBRARY!

And a catalogue to record all the books I have. I swear I have a growing hill of books at the base of my bed which I hadn’t bothered to put away nicely since there is no space. Also a stack of books on the floor. The rest of the books are scattered: in 2 boxes, in the cupboard attached to my study table, and possibly in other nooks and crannies of the house.

Anyway, I’ve ordered for replacements of the missing GG books to be delivered, but they just won’t be the same. Once I’m back from London I’ll have to do massive detective work to solve the Case of the Missing Teen Novels.

Leave a Reply

